CK Williams and Facebook

He replied to my friend request!

 

I was genuinely excited and had to explain to my mum who he was and why this was news in our house. Then she spotted how many others CK had befriended simultaneously. Then the half dozen three minutes previous. And the baker’s dozen previous to that. And ten more. Scrolling down it seemed he had spent days okaying an army of friends.

 

Why so many?

And why now? Has he finally run out of words, like they say adrenalin junkies will run out of adrenalin? Or is he overcome at some bottomless well of loneliness that has opened in his soul?

 

Some of the chumps he let into his online world don’t seem to know who he is. One asks for selection of his poetry as a sampler: to check its quality? Another asks Mr Williams to explain who he is. A fair enough request. I’m not saying reputation isn’t worthless, but this request seems fatuous.

 

Mum was looking over my shoulder when I composed a gushing email on the off-chance I might be the one CK Williams had actually read a little of and decided he needed my friendship. That I was harbouring a similar spark to him. That it has become imperative we converse and that I had turned a corner, said something remarkable which has flagged me and my efforts in poetry. At last, my choice to swim in the sea instead of rivers was right.

 

He hasn’t responded yet. But I did write my website on his wall.

About grahamcliffordpoet

Graham is an award winning poet, based in London. He graduated from the University of East Anglia with an MA in Creative Writing, and has since published nationally and internationally, winning many awards and performing at some of the most prestigious and well known Literary Festivals. His debut collection, The Hitting Game, is published by Seren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

