On getting published

Publish and be damned, isn’t that what they say?
I have grown up with something a bit more stupid than respect of the printed word: more akin to awe. Books are magic, aren’t they? I wasn’t allowed to manhandle them as a kid. It will take me the best part of a Decade to finally part with bug-riddled classics I persecute myself that I should have read by now, and if I dare usher them off my bookshelves, well…
Books are magic. But lots are crap, too. I don’t care if they’re electronic or not. Don’t matter. I am going to have a book published next year by Seren. It feels a little bit like I am about to die. I suppose the me that has never been the bride, but always the bride’s maid, is about to disappear.
I have a deadline of September to prepare and send in my manuscript. This will be a book of around fifty poems. The majority have been finished, but there are questions around ordering, etc that I need to explore. But, the overriding fact is this:I have spent many years happily being published in magazines, journals etc, and now it’s my turn to publish and be damned? Or not. My advice to others planning this kind of venture is: be prepared to not be everyone’s cup of tea. This is inevitable. And exciting.

About grahamcliffordpoet

Graham is an award winning poet, based in London. He graduated from the University of East Anglia with an MA in Creative Writing, and has since published nationally and internationally, winning many awards and performing at some of the most prestigious and well known Literary Festivals. His debut collection, The Hitting Game, is published by Seren.
This entry was posted in commentary, creative writing, poetry, Publishing, reflection, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On getting published

  1. I saw that you liked your own post! That’s funny, but hey, why not?

  2. Pete Denton says:

    I still think being published is a big deal. Good luck with your poetry collection. 🙂

Leave a Reply

